FRG Workshop on Geometric Methods for Analyzing Discrete Shapes

05/07/2021 11:00 am - 05/09/2021 8:45 pm

This workshop will take place May 7-9 (Friday-Sunday), 2021 virtually on Zoom

The aim of the workshop is to bring together a community of researchers in mathematics, computer science, and data science who develop theoretical and computational models to characterize shapes and analysis of image data.

This workshop is part of the NSF FRG project: Geometric and Topological Methods for Analyzing Shapes.

The first half of the workshop will feature talks aimed at graduate students, newcomers, and a broad spectrum of audiences. Christopher Bishop (Stony Brook) and Keenan Crane (Carnegie Mellon) will each give two featured talks. The remaining part will have both background and research talks. There will also be organized discussions of open problems and potential applications.

For the discussions, we are soliciting open problems in mathematical theory and applications of shape analysis. You are encouraged to post problems by sending an email to

We invite junior researchers to present a short talk in the workshop. The session will be held on Friday, May 7th or Saturday, May 8th at 4pm and are expected to be 15-20 minutes in length. It is a great opportunity to share your work and get to know others at the workshop. Depending on the number of contributed talks, the organizers will review the submissions and let you know if you have been selected. If you are interested please send your title and abstract to by the end of May 2nd.



  • David Glickenstein, University of Arizona
  • Joel Hass, University of California, Davis
  • Patrice Koehl, University of California, Davis
  • Feng Luo, Rutgers University, New Brunswick
  • Tianqi Wu, Harvard University
  • Shing-Tung Yau, Harvard University

Featured lectures:

  • Christopher Bishop, Stony Brook
  • Keenan Crane, Carnegie Mellon

Speakers include:

  • Miri Ben-Chen, Technion – Israel Institute of Technology
  • Alexander Bobenko, Technische Universität Berlin, Germany
  • Ulrike Buecking, Free University, Germany
  • Nadav Dym, Duke University
  • Ivan Izmestiev, Vienna University of Technology
  • Yanwen Luo, Rutgers
  • Stephan Tillmann, The University of Sydney
  • Max Wardetzky, University of Goettingen
  • Xu Xu, Wuhan University